TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

1913 Premiership

Percy Parratt replaced Geoff Moriarty as Fitzroy coach for the most successful campaign in the club’s 31-year history to that point.

They had a record 3064 members and plenty to play for after a fire in the Fitzroy Cricket Club Pavilion at Brunswick Street Oval destroyed the club’s five original premiership pennants.

In compensation, the cricket club had agreed to pay for replacement flags, but the football team earned another ‘real’ one of their own after a 16-2 record through the home-and-away season saw them finish on top of the ladder.

They defeated Collingwood in the first finals match and were upset by StKilda by 25 points in the second final in front of 54,747 people.

As the minor premiers, Fitzroy had the right of a ‘challenge’ and, opening up the game and shelving their roughhouse tactics of the previous week, they turned the tables by 13 points in front of 59,479 people.

Captain Bill Walker, a triple premiership player, promptly announced his retirement after 11 years, content that his team had justified their 1913 nickname of 'The Unbeatables’.

Fitzroy’s George Holden was best afield in the grand final.


FITZROY 3.6 4.8 5.11 7.14 (56)
ST KILDA 0.1 0.5 1.10 5.13 (43)

GOALS - Shaw 2, Freake, Norris, Toohey, Parratt, Martin.
BEST - Holden, McLennan, Parratt, Johnson, Cooper, Shaw, Lethbridge, Heaney, Toohey.
CROWD - 59,479 at the MCG.


B Chris Lethbridge Bert Lenne Artie Harrison
HB Fred Bamford Wally Johnson Jack Cooper
C Teddy Buist Lal McLennan George Holden
HF Percy Parratt Tom Heaney Jim Toohey
F Jim Martin Jim Freake George Shaw
FOLL Bill Walker (c) Charlie Norris Percy Heron
COACH Percy Parratt