TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Lions TV

The Roar Deal: Oscar McInerney

2:39pm  Jun 22, 2018

Locker Talk: World Cup

1:55pm  Jun 22, 2018

Update: Skinner and Wooller

12:38pm  Jun 22, 2018

Fagan: Focusing beyond wins

11:29am  Jun 22, 2018

MRP Update: Robertson hit with two charges

July 17, 2017 12:27 PM

Robertson on report for Cotchin headbutt Brisbane Lion Nick Robertson is reported by the umpire for contact with Tiger Trent Cotchin

The AFL has released the findings from the Match Review Panel after Round 17 and Nick Robertson has been charged for two incidents:

Nick Robertson, Brisbane Lions, has been charged with headbutting Trent Cotchin, Richmond, during the third quarter of the Round 17 match between the Brisbane Lions and Richmond, played at Etihad Stadium on Sunday July 16, 2017. 

In summary, he can accept a one-match sanction with an early plea.

Based on the available video evidence and a medical report from the Richmond Football Club, the incident was assessed as intentional conduct with low impact to the head. The incident was classified as a two-match sanction. The player has no applicable record which impacts the penalty. An early plea enables the player to accept a one-match sanction.

Nick Robertson, Brisbane Lions, has been charged with kneeing Dustin Martin, Richmond, during the third quarter of the Round 17 match between the Brisbane Lions and Richmond, played at Etihad Stadium on Sunday July 16, 2017. 

In summary, for a second classifiable offence, he can accept a $1500 sanction with an early plea.

Based on the available video evidence and a medical report from the Richmond Football Club, the incident was assessed as intentional conduct with low impact to the body. The incident was a second classifiable offence and classified as a $2500 sanction. An early plea enables the player to accept a $1500 sanction. 

Other incidents assessed

Contact between the Brisbane Lions’ Nick Robertson and Richmond’s Trent Cotchin from the third quarter of Sunday’s match was assessed. It was the view of the panel that the force used in the contact was below that required to constitute a report. No further action was taken.