Main content

Brisbane Lions 2017 Club Champion wrap

Dayne Zorko has been crowned the Brisbane Lions’ Club Champion for the 2017 season.

The 28-year-old was presented with the Merrett-Murray Medal by Chairman Bob Sharpless and Kevin Murray and Roger Merrett, whom the award is named after.

The Club Champion recognition caps off an incredible week for the “Magician” after he was named in the All Australian 22-man team for the first time in his career. 

In his 21 games this season, Zorko polled 277 votes for his efforts on field, as judged by Senior Coach Chris Fagan and Assistant Senior Coaches at the Lions. 

In second place, receiving the Nigel Lappin Trophy was Captain Dayne Beams with 224 votes.

In third place was Vice-Captain Tom Rockliff and with 214 votes he received the Alastair Lynch Trophy. 

This is the third consecutive year Zorko has accepted the Merrett-Murray medal since making his debut for Brisbane in Round 7, 2012. 


He equals Lions veterans Simon Black, Jonathan Brown and Michael Voss for the most Merrett-Murray Medals. 

Zorko was also recognised as the Hyundai Club Player of the Year, for the second year running.

Rockliff was named Players’ Player, for the third time in his nine seasons with Brisbane.

Promising young forward Eric Hipwood, who booted 30 goals in his second season of AFL, was named Rookie of the Year.

Defender Harris Andrews received the Marcus Ashcroft Most Professional Player Award.

Aggressive midfielder Nick Robertson was named Shaun Hart Trademark Player of the Year.

Oscar McInerney, who tomorrow plays in a NEAFL preliminary final against Sydney University, was awarded the Neville Fallon Brisbane Lions Reserves Best & Fairest.

The Vero Fan moment went to Cedric Cox, for his unforgettable first career goal in Round 18’s victory over Carlton at the Gabba. 

Cox, along with Jarrod Berry, Hugh McCluggage, Alex Witherden, Jacob Allison and Sam Skinner were acknowledged for making their AFL debuts in 2017. 

Stewart Duncan won the Murray Johnson Volunteer of the Year Award. 

While Adrian Fletcher and Ian Hawke were inducted as Life Members.

Leah Williams was honoured with the 2017 Women of the Pride Award.

2017 Brisbane Lions Club Champion Award Winners

Club Champion: Merrett-Murray Medallist Dayne Zorko
Nigel Lappin Trophy - Runner Up Dayne Beams 
Alastair Lynch Trophy - Third place Tom Rockliff
Rookie of the Year Eric Hipwood
Marcus Ashcroft Most Professional Player Award Harris Andrews
Shaun Hart Trademark Player of the Year Award Nick Robertson
Players' Player of the Year Tom Rockliff
Neville Fallon Brisbane Lions Reserves Best and Fairest Oscar McInerney
Hyundai Club Player of the Year  Dayne Zorko
Murray Johnson Volunteer of the Year Award Stewart Duncan 
Life Members Adrian Fletcher & Ian Hawke
Vero Moment Cedric Cox
Women of the Pride Award Leah Williams
2017 Debutants

Jarrod Berry – Rd 3 v St. Kilda
Hugh McCluggage – Rd 3 v St. Kilda
Cedric Cox – Rd 4 v Richmond
Alex Witherden – Rd 14 v GWS Giants
Jacob Allison – Rd 19 v West Coast
Sam Skinner – Rd 19 v West Coast

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs