TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Lions TV

Team Announcement: Round 22

6:17pm  Aug 16, 2018

TBT: Stef's day out

4:18pm  Aug 16, 2018

Lions Cage: Catch Up

3:40pm  Aug 16, 2018

Luke Hodge on Game Day

11:04am  Aug 16, 2018

In the Mix: Lions v Adelaide

Michael Whiting & Lee Gaskin, AFL Media  July 18, 2018 1:22 PM

 - Brisbane Lions

Following three straight wins, AFL Media's Michael Whiting discusses possible team changes for Round 18:

The Lions NEAFL team showed some good form in its 11-point win over Sydney Uni. Young midfielder Ben Keays was solid with 30 disposals and nine clearances. Veteran Ryan Bastinac was also impressive, collecting 28 disposals at 93 percent efficiency. Might be hard to force a spot in the Seniors though.

After a brilliant team performance against Hawthorn, the only man who may struggle to hold their senior spot is Cedric Cox. Cox was a late inclusion for Luke Hodge.

Hodge will have his calf tested throughout the week to determine his availability for Round 18. More testing for concussed Vice-Captain Harris Andrews this week, but the Club won't be rushing his return.

The verdict? If it isn't broken, don't fix it, right? Well, not quite. Expect Hodge to come back in if he overcomes his niggle at the expense of Cox, but otherwise, no changes to the Lions' winning side.

AFL Media's Lee Gaskin takes a look at the Crow's best 22 for Round 18:

Key defender Daniel Talia is in doubt for Saturday night's clash with Brisbane at the Gabba with a fractured shin, while forward Mitch McGovern (ankle) is a chance for his first game since round eight. If McGovern can't get up, then Darcy Fogarty will likely be recalled, in place of suspended skipper Taylor Walker.

There's no need to make unforced changes after last Thursday night's 15-point win against Geelong. Alex Keath or Kyle Hartigan will make way for Talia if he returns.

Talia appears unlikely with a small crack in his fibula, while McGovern is a good chance. Richard Douglas (ankle) is another week away.

The verdict? Just the one change – McGovern for Walker.