TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Bears Brownlow Medallist

Michael Voss became the first, and only, Bears player to receive the AFL's highest individual honour when he tied with Essendon's James Hird at the 1996 Brownlow Medal count. 

Voss, who was just 21 at the time, received a total of 21 votes to take a share of first place - alongside Hird and North Melbourne's Corey McKernan - at the completion of the voting rounds. McKernan, however, was ineligible to win after being suspended by the AFL Tribunal during the season. 

The acknowledgement further established Voss as one of the brightest young stars of the AFL competition.

1996 Brownlow Medal Leaderboard
21     Michael Voss (Bears)
21     James Hird (Essendon)
21     Corey McKernan (NM)*
20     Chris Grant (Footscray)
20     Nathan Burke (St Kilda)
19     Garry Hocking (Geelong)
18     Paul Salmon (Hawthorn)
17     Justin Charles (Richmond)
17     Stewart Leowe (St Kilda)
17     Robert Harvey (St Kilda)
17     Guy McKenna (West Coast)