TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Fitzroy Brownlow Medallists

Six Fitzroy players won the Brownlow Medal - Haydn Bunton, Wilfred 'Chicken' Smallhorn, Denis 'Dinny' Ryan, Allan 'The Baron' Ruthven, Kevin Murray and Bernie Quinlan. 

In this exclusive group there were two rovers, a wingman, a half back flanker, a centre half back and a centre half forward. 

Together they won the medal eight times, dominating through the 1930s the award that was instituted in 1924 for the game's top performer each year. And each was a favorite son of Fitzroy.

1931 - Haydn Bunton (26 votes)
1932 - Haydn Bunton (23 votes)
1933 - Wilfred 'Chicken' Smallhorn (18 votes)
1935 - Haydn Bunton (25 votes)
1936 - Denis 'Dinny' Ryan (26 votes)
1950 - Allan Ruthven (21 votes)
1969 - Kevin Murray (19 votes)
1981 -
Bernie Quinlan* (22 votes)

*Quinlan tied for the 1981 Brownlow Medal with Barry Round (South Melbourne)