Main content

New Merrett-Murray Medal

The Merrett-Murray Medal has been awarded to the Club Champion each year since the Brisbane Lions formed as a merged entity in 1997.

The Medal is named after Roger Merrett and Kevin Murray who both made a significant contribution to our Club’s history with the Bears and Fitzroy respectively.

Murray also holds the record for most best and fairest awards at the Club - and in the AFL - with nine.

But after 13 years, the Merrett-Murray Medal received a makeover in 2010 to better reflect the underlying history and significance of the award.

The previous ‘Brisbane Lions’ logo script that adorned the front of the medal has been replaced with iconic images of both Merrett and Murray from their playing days in front of the familiar Gabba backdrop.

The back of the medal features the famous side-on Lions logo and provides space for the winner’s name to be engraved.

The medal has already received overwhelmingly positive feedback from one of its namesakes - Kevin Murray - who was thrilled with new design after seeing it for the first time at the 2010 Club Champion dinner.   

Michael Rischitelli became the first recipient of the new-look medal last week when he won the 2010 Brisbane Lions Best & Fairest award.

The Merrett-Murray Medal remains the highest individual honour that any player can achieve at the Brisbane Lions.