Main content

10 inducted into Hall of Fame

BBFFC Five letters the players wear proudly on their guernsey. Five letters that mean so much, to so many. Welcome to the Brisbane Lions Hall of Fame.

The Brisbane Lions tonight inducted 10 new members into the Club’s Hall of Fame in front of 500 guests at Brisbane’s Convention and Exhibition centre, while three-time Premiership Captain and former Senior Coach, Michael Voss was elevated to ‘Legend’ status.

Voss joins former Fitzroy greats Kevin Murray and Haydn Bunton as only the third official ‘Lions Legend’.

Murray – the Club’s all-time games record holder and nine-time Best and Fairest winner – and Bunton – a triple Brownlow Medallist – were revealed as the first two Legends of the Club during the Lions’ inaugural Hall of Fame event back in 2012.

Voss, who was among the inaugural Hall of Fame inductees announced in Melbourne two years ago, is the latest individual to be honoured as part of this incredibly exclusive group.

And it comes as no surprise considering his remarkable record, which includes 289 senior matches, three premierships, a Brownlow Medal, five Best & Fairest awards, a decade as Captain, and five seasons as Senior Coach.  

Meanwhile, four of Voss’ premiership teammates – Chris Johnson, Darryl White, Chris Scott, and Shaun Hart – were among the Hall of Fame class of 2014, along with three-time Fitzroy Best & Fairest Norm Brown, former Bears skipper Roger Merrett, and early Fitzroy greats George Holden, Bill Walker, Harold ‘Lal’ McLennan, and Len Wigraft.  

The latest 10 inductees join a host of other famous names from Fitzroy, the Bears and the Brisbane Lions, as members of this exclusive group reserved only for the Club’s absolute ‘best of the best’.

The Brisbane Lions Hall of Fame was designed to recognise and enshrine the most outstanding players, coaches and administrators from across the Club’s combined 128-year VFL/AFL history.

The Brisbane Lions Board established an independent selection committee in 2012 comprised of four highly respected former Club officials, including Graeme Downie (chairman), Robert Walls, Arthur Wilson and Peter Blucher.

To be eligible for selection, players had to be retired from the game for a period of at least three years, with candidates adjudged on their overall contribution to the Club, as opposed to one specific aspect.

Only a very limited number of individuals will be inducted into the Hall of Fame every two years, with Melbourne set to host the next induction ceremony in 2016.

View the inductee profiles

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs