Main content

2016 Hall of Fame wrap

The Brisbane Lions have celebrated their combined history at the Club's Hall of Fame event on Saturday night in Melbourne.

MC Craig Willis and co-host Jonathan Brown inducted eight new members into the Brisbane Lions Hall of Fame, a fourth Club Legend and honoured the player of the decade in the King of the Pride award (2007-2016).

Jimmy Freake (Fitzroy), Norm Johnstone (Fitzroy), Luke Power (Brisbane Lions), Gary Pert (Fitzroy), Arthur Wilson (Fitzroy/Lions), George Coates (Fitzroy/Lions), Matthew Rendell (Fitzroy/Bears) and Jason Akermanis (Bears/ Lions) are the newest members of the Club's Hall of Fame.

Garry Wilson was inducted as the Club's fourth Legend.

'Flea' played 268 games for Fitzroy and kicked 451 goals between 1971-1984.

Wilson's accolades include five best and fairests, AFL Hall of Fame inductee, and Fitzroy captain.

The Club also honoured the exceptional playing career of Simon Black, naming the triple premiership player as The King of the Pride, recognising him as the best player from the period between 2007-2016 - as voted by his peers.

Black played 322 games between 1998 and 2013, winning the Brownlow Medal in 2002.

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs