Main content

AFLX Fixture

AFLX rules All you need to know ahead of the AFLX round-robin competition.

The Brisbane Lions have been placed in a pool with Richmond and the GWS Giants for the Sydney leg of the inaugural AFLX tournament. 

Reigning premiers Richmond will await the Lions first, before a quick turnaround to the second pool match against 2017 preliminary finalists the GWS Giants.

See the full fixture for Sydney below:

Saturday, February 17
Allianz Stadium, Sydney

Pool A: GWS Giants, Richmond, Brisbane Lions

Pool B: Sydney Swans, Western Bulldogs, Gold Coast SUNS

  • 4.10pm GWS Giants v Richmond
  • 4.38pm Sydney Swans v Western Bulldogs
  • 5.06pm Richmond v Brisbane Lions
  • 5.34pm Western Bulldogs v Gold Coast Suns
  • 6.02pm Brisbane Lions v GWS Giants
  • 6.30pm Gold Coast Suns v Sydney Swans
  • 7.03pm Grand Final

Tickets to the Sydney leg of the AFLX tournament are available here. Gates open at 3.00pm. All times listed are in AEDT. 

The Lions' team for the tournament will be announced soon. 

What is AFLX?

  • Played on a soccer-sized field
  • Played between two sides of seven, three on each interchange bench
  • Ten-minute quarters. Two-minute half time and five-minutes in between matches.
  • No centre bounces (kick-ins from full-back after each goal)
  • One umpire

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs