Main content

AFL Players' 22Under22 Squad

The AFL Players' Association is proud to unveil the 2018 22Under22 squad, which honours some of the game's most exciting young talent.

Brisbane Lions' Harris Andrews, Alex Witherden, Eric Hipwood and Hugh McCluggage have been named in the 40-man squad selected by the AFLPA Board for their performances in 2018.

To be eligible for selection, players must be aged 22 years and under for the entirety of the season, including the finals series. 

AFL Players’ Association president Patrick Dangerfield said finalising the squad of young stars was a difficult task, and will prove to be even more difficult for the fans to settle on the final 22.

“With names like Bontempelli, Merrett, Heeney and Oliver, the 22under22 squad for 2018 is packed with talent once again," Dangerfield said.

“Despite their tender age, all players in this squad have had a significant impact on their teams this season, which makes the task of selecting the 22 players all the more difficult.”

Now in its sixth year, 22Under22 is the industry’s only recognised fan-voted award and provides the footy public with the power to select the final 22.

Click here to cast your vote!

The final team is revealed at the AFL Players’ MVP Awards on Thursday, August 30.

Fans who submit a team that matches the final 22Under22 team will automatically go into the draw to win an AFL Players’ prize pack. 

Voting closes on Tuesday, August 28, 2018.

22UNDER22 40-Man SQUAD

Tom Doedee (Adelaide), Wayne Milera (Adelaide), Harris Andrews (Brisbane), Alex Witherden (Brisbane), Andrew McGrath (Essendon), Conor McKenna (Essendon), Ed Langdon (Fremantle), Lachie Weller (Gold Coast), Dougal Howard (Port Adelaide), Jayden Short (Richmond), Bailey Williams (Western Bulldogs).

Eric Hipwood (Brisbane)
, Charlie Curnow (Carlton), Jordan De Goey (Collingwood), Jaidyn Stephenson (Collingwood), Bayley Fritsch (Melbourne), Alex Neal-Bullen (Melbourne), Dan Butler (Richmond), Jade Gresham (St Kilda), Ben Ronke (Sydney), Will Hayward (Sydney), Billy Gowers (Western Bulldogs).

Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane
), Zac Fisher (Carlton), Tom Phillips (Collingwood), Zach Merrett (Essendon), Touk Miller (Gold Coast), Tim Taranto (GWS Giants), Jacob Hopper (GWS Giants), Angus Brayshaw (Melbourne), James Harmes (Melbourne), Clayton Oliver (Melbourne), Christian Petracca (Melbourne), Sam Powell-Pepper (Port Adelaide), Jack Steele (St Kilda), Isaac Heeney (Sydney), Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs), Toby McLean (Western Bulldogs).

Sean Darcy (Fremantle), Tim English (Western Bulldogs)

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs