Main content

AFL Players Awards

The Brisbane Lions' playing group have nominated Dayne Beams, Dayne Zorko and Harris Andrews as their MVPs for the AFL Players' MVP Awards.  

Michael Voss was the Lions' most recent winner of the MVP Award in 2002 and 2003. 

Cam Rayner has been nominated by the team as the best first-year player, while Darcy Gardiner has been nominated as the most courageous. 

MVP NOMINEES: Dayne Beams, Dayne Zorko, Harris Andrews 



Dayne Beams and Dayne Zorko have been automatically nominated for the Best Captain Award

The winners will be announced at the AFL Players’ MVP Awards on Thursday 30th August in Melbourne. 

Nomination details

  • The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process. The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner. Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.
  • A similar process is followed for Best First Year player and Most Courageous, however, just one player is nominated from each club.
  • Every captain is automatically nominated for the Best Captain Award.

Other information:

  • 2018 will see the 37th Annual AFL Players’ Association MVP Awards.
  • There have been 28 winners of the Leigh Matthews Trophy (AFLPA MVP) with Gary Ablett (five), Greg Williams Wayne Carey, Chris Judd, Michael Voss and Nat Fyfe (two) the only multiples.
  • Dustin Martin (MVP), Andrew McGrath (Best First Year), Rory Sloane (Most Courageous), Taylor Walker (Best Captain) were the 2017 award winners.

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs