Main content

No Lions named in 2018 All Australian team

Dayne Beams and Harris Andrews, who on Monday were named in the 40-man All Australian squad, have not been named in the final 22-man team announced tonight in Melbourne. 

Sydney's Lance Franklin has become just the fourth player to be selected in eight Australia AFL All Australian teams.

Franklin was included at centre half-forward, joining Robert Harvey, Mark Ricciuto and Gary Ablett Jr as the only players to win eight separate All Australian blazers.

The 31-year-old was named alongside six-time All Australian Patrick Dangerfield and four-time All Australian Robbie Gray in a star-studded half-forward line.

Last year's All Australian skipper, Alex Rance, was one of four Richmond players to be included in the team, which also featured Jack Riewoldt, Dustin Martin and Shane Edwards.

Max Gawn overcame Brodie Grundy for the hotly debated position as the All Australian ruckman, though both were included in the side – with Grundy named on the bench.

Grundy was one of 10 maiden All Australians selected in the team, with his Collingwood teammate Steele Sidebottom also named for the first time in his career.

West Coast captain Shannon Hurn, Geelong's Tom Stewart and Greater Western Sydney's Lachie Whitfield made up a new-look back six, all awarded their first All Australian blazers.

Rance was named for his fifth straight season, with Jeremy McGovern and Rory Laird making up the back line.

Carlton star Patrick Cripps was joined by Hawthorn ball-magnet Tom Mitchell and Martin in the middle of the field, with Sidebottom and West Coast's Andrew Gaff on the wings.

Hawthorn's Jack Gunston overcame Tom Hawkins and Ben Brown to be named in the forward pocket and win his first ever inclusion, joining Riewoldt and teammate Luke Breust in the forward line.

Meanwhile, the bench was made up entirely of new faces – with Grundy joined by Clayton Oliver, Shaun Higgins and Edwards for the final places in the team.


B: Tom Stewart, Alex Rance, Rory Laird
HB: Shannon Hurn, Jeremy McGovern, Lachie Whitfield
C: Andrew Gaff, Dustin Martin, Steele Sidebottom
Patrick Dangerfield, Lance Franklin, Robbie Gray
Jack Gunston, Jack Riewoldt, Luke Breust
Max Gawn, Patrick Cripps, Tom Mitchell
Brodie Grundy, Clayton Oliver, Shaun Higgins, Shane Edwards

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs