In an astonishing first year as a Lion, Lachie Neale has been awarded the Brisbane Lions’ highest accolade; the Merrett-Murray Medal as Club Champion.

In front of more than 760 guests at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Neale received the award from its namesakes, Brisbane Bears legend Roger Merrett and Fitzroy Team of the Century Captain Kevin Murray.

The 26-year-old led the count the entire evening and finished with 386 votes. Captain Dayne Zorko finished second with 348 votes and received the Nigel Lappin Trophy for runner up from his Midfield Coach Dale Tapping. Hugh McCluggage finished third overall with 322 votes and received the Alastair Lynch Trophy from Backline Coach Murray Davis.

2019 has been an incredible year for Neale. In August he received his first All Australian blazer, finished equal third in last month’s Brownlow Medal count, and in September played in the Club’s first AFL Finals Series in a decade. 

Neale played in all 24 matches for the Lions in 2019, including their two Finals appearances. He averaged 30.9 disposals and 3.8 tackles per game and finished first in the league for total clearances; total centre clearances; total effective disposals; total stoppage clearances and total contested possessions.


Top Ten Leader Board of the Merrett-Murray Medal




Lachie Neale


Dayne Zorko


Hugh McCluggage


Jarryd Lyons


Daniel Rich


Charlie Cameron


Stefan Martin


Darcy Gardiner


Mitch Robinson


Harris Andrews



Full list of award winners:


Merrett-Murray Medal – Lachie Neale

Nigel Lappin Trophy (runner up) – Captain Dayne Zorko

Alastair Lynch Trophy (third place) – Hugh McCluggage

Players’ Player – Mitch Robinson, Dayne Zorko and Lachie Neale

Shaun Hart Trademark Player of the Year – Mitch Robinson

Finals Player – Stefan Martin

Rookie of the Year – Noah Answerth

Marcus Ashcroft Most Professional Player Award – Harris Andrews

Neville Fallon Brisbane Lions Reserves Best and Fairest – Ryan Bastinac