All the football greats have something named after them.

There’s Leigh Matthews Trophy awarded to the AFLPA MVP, named after 3-peat Premiership Coach Leigh Matthews.

Legends of our club, Roger Merrett and Kevin Murray, hold naming honours of the Lions’ own Merrett-Murray Medal.

The QClash’s Marcus Ashcroft Medal, drawing on the legacy of triple Premiership player Marcus Ashcroft.

And now Brisbane Lions AFLW Premiership Captain, Emma Zielke, will join them.

AFL Queensland announced on Wednesday that the QAFLW Best and Fairest Medal will become the Emma Zielke Medal, in honour of the former Lions Captain and her legacy to Women’s Football in Queensland.

Speaking to AFL Queensland on the announcement, Zielke said it was an unbelievable honour to have the medal named after herself and her family.

“It’s so special to me having been involved in women’s footy in Queensland for so long, I’ve been playing for 15/16 years now,” Zielke said.

“It’s surreal, I know the night I attend this year and they call it out I’ll probably be a little bit in shock to be honest.

“It’s going to be special to hear that every year someone’s name, the best and fairest player of the league, is going to be holding that (Emma Zielke) medal and I’m really thankful to AFLQ for even putting my name forward.”

02:52 Mins
Published on

Emma Zielke name etched into Queensland football history

Emma Zielke is set to have her name engraved in football history, with AFLW announcing the QAFLW Best & Fairest Medal as the Emma Zielke Medal.

Published on

The honour speaks volumes of Zielke’s leadership on and off the field, where she championed the women’s game since first getting involved in 2007 at her local club, Morningside.

Four State League Premierships, two QAFLW Best and Fairest Medals, and an integral role in the push for women’s football at Cooparoo are just the highlight reel of a long and illustrious list of accolades for the 32-year-old at State level.

Complementing her rich Queensland State League history is Zielke’s undoubted impact in the AFLW and Queensland’s inaugural AFLW team, the Brisbane Lions.

Signing with the Brisbane Lions as a priority player in 2016, it didn’t take long for her to be named as the inaugural Brisbane Lions Captain ahead of the first AFLW season in 2017.

The midfielder captained the side through two Grand Final losses in 2017 and 2018, before leading the team to their inaugural Premiership in 2021.

Ending on the fairytale high of an AFLW Premiership, Zielke hung up her boots at the end of the 2021 AFLW season.

The Emma Zielke Medal will be presented on September 12th, 2021, alongside the J.A Grogan Medal.