Main content

Latest Lions TV

NEAFL Highlights: Round 7

3:26pm  May 22, 2018

NEAFL Wrap: Round 7

1:48pm  May 22, 2018

Coaches Wrap: Round 9

1:42pm  May 22, 2018

Brisbane's day at the Gabba

11:13am  May 22, 2018

Nine AFLW stars locked in

May 17, 2017 5:49 PM

The Brisbane Lions have finalised paperwork with the AFL today to secure nine of their AFL Women's players who have re-signed with the Club.

The Lions secured the signature of Captain Emma Zielke as well as marquee forward Sabrina Frederick-Traub.

Zielke was nominated by her teammates for the AFLW Players’ Most Valuable Player Award after an exceptional first year, leading her team undefeated and into the inaugural AFLW Grand Final.

The Captain expressed her enthusiasm at another year at the Club.

"I'm absolutely stoked to be re-signing with the Brisbane Lions 2018, there's nowhere else I would rather be," said Zielke.

Frederick-Traub was runner-up in the inaugural Brisbane Lions Women's Best and Fairest and was selected in the AFL Women's All Australian team at season's end.

A strong season for the 20-year-old, Frederick-Traub cemented her spot in Brisbane as a key forward with her uncompromising attack on the footy and strong spirit around the Club.

Women's Coach Craig Starcevich commended Frederick-Traub at the Best & Fairest on her ability to uplift and encourage fellow teammates.

"She's able to generate great enthusiasm in the group; her spirit in lifting everyone is probably one of the reasons why we had a successful year," said Starcevich.

The Club has also retained grand final players Brittany Gibson, Breanna Koenen, Tahlia Randall, Jamie Stanton, Sharni Webb, Jessica Wuetschner and Alexandra Anderson.

Gibson and Weutschner, both recruited from Tasmania, have relocated to Brisbane and are playing for Coorparoo in the QWAFL during the off-season.

Jess Wuetschner was also named in the 2017 Virgin Ausrtalia AFL Women's All Australia squad.

The AFLW trade period will run until May 26.