Main content

Key dates ahead of Round 1

${customImageCaption} - Brisbane Lions

MEN'S TEAM KEY DATES

Monday, 5 November 
First to fourth years return

Monday, 19 November
Full playing group returns

Mid-January 
Pre-season training camp in Tasmania

Sunday, 3 March & Saturday, 9 March
JLT Community Series matches

Saturday, 23 March
Round 1 v West Coast at the Gabba

See the full 2019 Fixture!

WOMEN'S TEAM KEY DATES

Monday, 19 November
Pre-season training begins

Sunday, 3 February
Round 1 v GWS Giants at Burpengary

See the 2019 AFLW Fixture!

The NAB AFL Draft will be held over two days in 2018! 

2018 NAB AFL DRAFT

Friday, November 16 by 1.00pm EST
NAB AFL Trade Period closes (for exchange of selections only).

Thursday, November 22 from 6pm - 8.30pm EST
NAB AFL Draft (Round one).

Friday, November 23 from 9am - 12.30pm EST
NAB AFL Draft (Round two onwards). 

Friday, November 23 from 4pm EST
NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft and NAB AFL Rookie Draft.

AFL FREE AGENCY PERIOD KEY DATES

Friday, 5 October
Restricted free agency offer and unrestricted free agency period starts.

Monday, 8 October at 9am EST
NAB AFL Trade Period starts.

Friday, 12 October by 4pm EST
Close of restricted free agency offer and unrestricted free agency period.

Monday, 15 October by 1pm EST
AFL restricted free agency matching offer three-day period ends. 

Wednesday, 17 October by 7.30pm EST
NAB AFL Trade Period closes (for exchange of players).

Friday, 16 November by 1pm EST
NAB AFL Trade Period closes (for exchange of selections only).

How else can players switch clubs?

Delisted players become free agents and can join new clubs during any of the three NAB AFL delisted player free agency windows. Once clubs have delisted a player, they will receive no compensation should that player be signed by a new club.

Wednesday, 31 October by 1pm EST
List Lodgement (1)

Thursday, 1 November
AFL delisted player free agency period (1) starts

Thursday, 8 November
AFL delisted player free agency period (1) closes

Saturday, 10 November
AFL delisted player free agency period (2) starts

Friday, 16 November 4pm EST
AFL delisted player free agency period (2) closes 

Friday, 23 November 12.30pm – 1.30pm EST 
AFL delisted player free agency period (3)

Tuesday, 27 November by 1pm EST
Final AFL club list lodgement