Main content

Our 2015 Club Champions

Out of a challenging season, a record four Lions have emerged as recipients of the Merrett-Murray Medal.

Dayne Beams, Stefan Martin, Mitch Robinson and Dayne Zorko were awarded joint Medallists at the annual Club Champion awards dinner this evening.

A four-way tie, four very deserving footballers.

Never before in Brisbane Lions, Bears, or Fitzroy history has there been a four-way tie.

Just four times in Fitzroy records (1883-1996) have two players shared the honour, while the Bears’ David Bain and Martin Leslie drew for a two-way tie back in 1990. Justin Leppitsch and Jason Akermanis claimed the award in 1999 as Lions and more recently Simon Black and Michael Voss were joint winners in 2001.

Dayne Beams, recruited from Collingwood at the end of 2014, played just 16 matches and re-writes Club history as the first player to claim the award, having played less than 18 games.

He is no stranger to receiving a best and fairest award, he claimed the Pies’ 2012 Copeland Trophy.

The 25-year old averaged 28 disposals (13 contested) and 6.5 clearances a match despite playing in a midfield often missing some of its best players through injury, before requiring season-ending shoulder surgery.

Dayne Zorko is the only player of the quartet to have played every game this season. Martin (20) was suspended for two matches and Robinson (21) missed one match through injury.

Zorko finished runner-up last season and claims his first Merrett-Murray Medal.

A Queenslander, he has averaged a career-best 22.95 disposals per game, including a season high 38-disposals against Adelaide in Round 21.

Mitch Robinson was delisted by the Blues in 2014 and has proved a rewarding pick-up for the Lions.

The 26-year-old has led the way with his fearless attack; for his 21 games this season he has averaged 20.8 disposals and 6.76 tackles.

Robinson also took out the Players’ Player Award and the Shaun Hart Most Competitive Player Award in a breakout season at the Club.

Stefan Martin has had a consistent season, earning praise as one of the competition’s best big men over the past 12 months, averaging 32.5 hit outs and 21 disposals from 20 matches in 2015.

Martin’s season was rewarded further when he received the Members’ Player of the Year.

The four polled 130 votes each, just two votes clear of Allen Christensen (128) in his first season at the Lions.

Defender Marco Paparone finished with 120 votes.

Lewis Taylor (117), Harris Andrews (111), Jed Adcock (103) and Justin Clarke (102) round out the top 10.

18-year old Harris Andrews received the Rookie of the Year award for his break-out season. Andrews reads the flight of the ball with a maturity far beyond his years.

His round 18 performance against Geelong earned him a Rising Star nomination. The Brisbane-raised product will prove a key position player for the Lions’ next decade or more.

Ryan Lester was named the 2015 Marcus Ashcroft Most Professional Player Award with Zac O’Brien the recipient of the Neville Fallon Reserves Best and Fairest.

Departing Lion, Jed Adcock, was acknowledged by the Club through a Recognition of Service award.

Merrett-Murray Medal Top Ten

Dayne Beams (130)
Stefan Martin (130)
Mitch Robinson (130)
Dayne Zorko (130)
Allen Christensen (128)
Marco Paparone (120)
Lewis Taylor (117)
Harris Andrews (111)
Jed Adcock (103)
Justin Clarke (102)

Other Awards

Rookie of the Year Harris Andrews 
Marcus Ashcroft Most Professional Player Award Ryan Lester 
Shaun Hart Most Competitive Player Award  Mitch Robinson
Players’ Player Award Mitch Robinson 
Neville Fallon Brisbane Lions Reserves Best & Fairest Zac O’Brien 
Members’ Player of the Year Award Stefan Martin 
Murray Johnson Volunteer of the Year Award Kerry and Kay Dowsett 
Debutants - Round 3 Vs Richmond Harris Andrews
Debutants - Round 8 Vs Essendon Liam Dawson 
Debutants - Round 1 Vs Collingwood Jaden McGrath 
Debutants - Round 10 Vs GWS Giants Hugh Beasley
Debutants - Round 19 Vs Gold Coast Billy Evans
Life Member Martin Pike
Life Member Mal Michael
Life Member Ivan Smith
Retirement Matt Maguire
Retirement Brent Staker
Retirement Luke McGuane
Recognition of Service Jed Adcock


The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs