Main content

NEAFL Preview and Team: Round 2

NEAFL Highlights: Round 1 Watch the highlights of the NEAFL round 1 against the NT Thunder

NEAFL Round 2
Brisbane Lions v Sydney Swans
Moreton Bay Sports Complex, 12pm
Saturday, April 14

After going down by the narrowest of margins to the NT Thunder in a gripping Round 1 contest, the Brisbane Lions NEAFL side will be out to collect their first win of the season on Saturday against the Sydney Swans.

The Swans also tasted defeat in Round 1, losing by four points to the GWS Giants. Daniel Robinson and Harry Marsh were impressive for the Swans, who were left to rue poor goalkicking (9.15) that cost them a chance at winning. 

Saturday will be the first time the two teams have met since last year's NEAFL Grand Final, which the Lions won by three points in an epic encounter. 

Marco Paparone returns from injury for the Lions this week and he is joined by Cedric Cox, Ryan Lester and Jack Frost for their first NEAFL match of the year. 

Zac Bailey (AFL debut), Jake Barrett (AFL emergency) and Mitch Hinge (hamstring) are out of the team this week. 

No side wants to start the season 0-2 so expect a quality encounter on Saturday in what will be the first of four clashes between the two teams in the home and away season this year.  

Watch the match

The match will be live-streamed below from 12pm AEST, Saturday April 14. Updates will also be on the Lions NEAFL Twitter account. 


B #50 - Jai Kennealy
#45 - Jack Frost #19 - Jacob Allison
HB #20 - Cedric Cox #25 - Dan McStay #24 - Liam Dawson
C  #4 - Ryan Bastinac #39 - Corey Lyons #22 - Marco Paparone
HF #17 - Claye Beams #35 - Ryan Lester #7 - Tom Bell
F #1 - Ben Keays #46 - Oscar McInerney #41 - Matt Eagles
FOL #44 - Archie Smith #38 - Connor Ballenden #37 - Brandon Starcevich
INT  #48 - Jack Tomkinson
#51 - Nick Smith #53 - Daniel Fleming
   #54 - Billy Johnson 55 - Ben Sloan  
 EMER #56 - Ronan Mayes #52 - Corey Gladdish #56 - Jonan Farry

In: 20. Cedric Cox 22. Marco Paparone 35. Ryan Lester 51. Nick Smith 45. Jack Frost 54. Billy Johnson

Out: Jake Barrett (AFL emergency) 51. Jesse Quint (Academy) 52. Ethan Hunt (injured) 33. Zac Bailey (AFL) 42. Mitch Hinge (hamstring) 

New: 51. Nick Smith 54. Billy Johnson

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs