There's a new leader in the race for the AFL Coaches' Association AFL Champion Player Award, with Brisbane young gun Hugh McCluggage overtaking Fremantle veteran David Mundy after their head-to-head battle on Sunday.

McCluggage polled an equal game-high eight votes, along with teammates Jarryd Lyons and Charlie Cameron, while Mundy failed to register a vote.

It's not the first time the 'Rolls Royce' has topped the votes in a Lions game. Following his 33 disposal performance against Carlton, McCluggage also found himself scoring 7 votes. 

The 23-year old has been relishing more midfield minutes after the loss of Brownlow Medalist, Lachie Neale.

The start to the 2021 season has seen the young star take his game to a new level, averaging a career high 26 disposals, which is elite in the competition.

After kicking 8 goals and 21 behinds last year, he also seems to have improved his kicking accuracy, having already kicked 7 goals in the opening 8 rounds. 

00:40 Mins
Published on

Forward 50 Pressure Leads To A Goal

Fremantle turns the ball over in defensive 50, as Hugh McCluggage finishes a nice piece of Brisbane play.

Published on

Check out who polled in round eight below and the full leaderboard at the bottom.

Brisbane v Fremantle

8 Jarryd Lyons (BL)
8 Charlie Cameron (BL)
8 Hugh McCluggage (BL)
2 Daniel Rich (BL)
2 Brandon Starcevich (BL)
1 Sean Darcy (FRE)
1 Nat Fyfe (FRE)


42 Hugh McCluggage BL
38 David Mundy FRE
34 Max Gawn MELB
34 Touk Miller GCFC
34 Ollie Wines PORT
33 Jack Macrae WB
32 Marcus Bontempelli WB
32 Clayton Oliver MELB
32 Christian Salem MELB
31 Samuel Walsh CARL
29 Zach Merrett ESS
28 Christian Petracca MELB
28 Taylor Walker ADEL
26 Travis Boak PORT
25 Tom Hickey SYD
24 Darcy Moore COLL
24 Jaeger O'Meara HAW
23 Mitch Duncan GEEL
23 Toby Greene GWS
23 Jacob Hopper GWS
23 Rory Laird ADEL
23 Dustin Martin RICH