Main content

Latest Lions TV

AFLW Rd 3: Team Song

8:28am  Feb 18, 2018

AFLW Rd 3: Highlights

11:55pm  Feb 17, 2018

Ashmore's opening goal

11:52pm  Feb 17, 2018

Wuetschner's snap from the pocket

11:42pm  Feb 17, 2018

Harris Andrews named in 22Under22 squad

August 22, 2016 5:41 PM

AFL 2016 Training - Brisbane Lions 090816

Brisbane Lions defender Harris Andrews has been named in the AFL's initial squad for the 2016 22Under22 squad. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media)

Brisbane Lions defender Harris Andrews has been named in the AFL's initial squad for the 2016 22Under22 team, which recognises the next generation of AFL stars.

The 50-man squad was ratified by the AFL Players’ Board and acknowledges the best young players who have achieved consistency across the 2016 home and away season.

To be eligible, players must be aged 22 years and under for the entirety of the 2016 season, including the finals series.

Now in its fourth year, 22Under22 is the industry’s only recognised fan-voted award and provides the footy public with the authority to select the final team.

A Queenslander, Andrews made his pathway to AFL through the Club's Hyundai Help for Kids Lions Academy. 

In just his second season the 19-year-old has often taken responsibility as a general in the Lions' backline, directing the Club's young defenders.

He was nominated for The AFL's Rising Star in Round 18 last season.

AFL Players’ Association President Matthew Pavlich said that this year’s selection process was particularly difficult due to the high calibre of eligible candidates.

“It’s really promising to sit back and look at the young players coming through that are already consistently strong performers so early on in their career,” he said. 

“Some of these guys in this squad have only been in the AFL system for one or two years and a few of them are already considered their team’s most important player, so it’s a really exciting time for the future of the game – I can’t wait to see who the fans select as their final 22.”

AFL Players’ Association CEO Paul Marsh believes the 22Under22 plays an important role in not only celebrating the competition’s youth but gives the fans a voice. 

“It’s great to provide a platform where the younger players are recognised and footy fans can throw their vote behind the young players they love watching each week,” he said.

Fans can now visit to cast their vote, before the final 2016 22Under22 team is revealed at the AFL Players’ MVP Awards on Tuesday September 13.

Fans who submit a team that matches the final 22Under22 team will automatically go into the draw to win the 22Under22 prize pack.

Voting closes on Tuesday 6th September.

The 2016 22Under22 squad

Rory Laird (Adel)
Jake Lever (Adel)
Rory Atkins (Adel)
Brad Crouch (Adel)
Matt Crouch (Adel)
Charlie Cameron (Adel)
Mitch McGovern (Adel)
Harris Andrews (BL)
Sam Docherty (Carl)
Jacob Weitering (Carl)
Patrick Cripps (Carl)
Brayden Maynard (Coll)
Jack Crisp (Coll)
Darcy Moore (Coll)
Brodie Grundy (Coll)
Marty Gleeson (Ess)
Zach Merrett (Ess)
Darcy Parish (Ess)
Joe Daniher (Ess)
Orazio Fantasia (Ess)
Tommy Sheridan (Frem)
Jake Kolodjashnij (Geel)
Lincoln McCarthy (Geel)
Kade Kolodjashnij (GCS)
Jack Martin (GCS)
Peter Wright (GCS)
Zac Williams (GWS)
Stephen Coniglio (GWS)
Josh Kelly (GWS)
Lachie Whitfield (GWS)
James Sicily (Haw)
Jayden Hunt (Melb)
Jack Viney (Melb)
Jesse Hogan (Melb)
Dean Kent (Melb)
Christian Petracca (Melb)
Darcy Byrne-Jones (PA)
Ollie Wines (PA)
Nick Vlastuin (Rich)
Luke Dunstan (StK)
Tim Membrey (StK)
Jack Billings (StK)
Callum Mills (Syd)
Isaac Heeney (Syd)
Liam Duggan (WCE)
Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
Caleb Daniel (WB)
Lachie Hunter (WB)
Jack Macrae (WB)
Jake Stringer (WB)

Latest on

  Needing more aggression

  Player of the Round: Daniel Rich