have had their say on which Lions have the best chance of taking home the Brownlow Medal on Sunday night.

Best Chance: Jarryd Lyons

After another stellar year, the hard-nosed midfielder will be an outside chance on Brownlow night.

Lyons was among the most consistent contested and clearance players in the competition this season, which should see him overcome a hot start from Hugh McCluggage and claim the most votes for the Lions.

The former Crow and Sun averaged a whopping 28 disposals (13 contested), 24 pressure acts and 6 tackles a game, earning him a spot in the 2021 extended All-Australian squad. 

01:36 Mins
Published on

2021 Third Place: Jarryd Lyons

Congratulations Jarryd Lyons, after another amazing season he's finished 3rd in our Best & Fairest count

Published on

Lyons ranks in the competitions Top 10 for tackles, pressure acts, stoppage clearances and contested possessions and won both Marcus Ashcroft Medals in the clubs two QClash battles against the Suns this season.

In career-best form, the third place getter in the Merrett-Murray Medal looks like a potential smokey in the race for the Brownlow.

Outside Chance: Hugh McCluggage 

Hugh McCluggage could challenge Lyons as the club’s frontrunner after finishing second in the Merrett-Murray Medal race.

Like his teammate, the 23-year-old is enjoying a career-best season, averaging 25 disposals and 8 marks. 

00:40 Mins
Published on

Nigel Lappen Trophy: Hugh McCluggage

Hugh McCluggage finishes runner up in the 2021 Club Champion.

Published on

The young gun is also rating in the elite category for kicks, with Champion Data ranking him the best kick inside 50 in the competition.

Dayne Zorko, who’s ineligible to win the award, edged out the aforementioned pair to win the best and fairest and will also be in the mix to lead Brisbane’s count.

One-Vote Wonder: Marcus Adams (v Geelong, round 15)

The defender hasn't polled Brownlow votes since his first season in the League, but could win some for his performance against Tom Hawkins late this season.

He kept the reigning Coleman Medallist, Tom Hawkins to just one goal for the night, while winning 13 touches himself.

Brownlow Predictor top three
20 Jarryd Lyons
16 Dayne Zorko*
15 Hugh McCluggage

Predicted total team votes: 84

2020 most votes: Lachie Neale (31 votes)
Ineligible: Dayne Zorko