Four Lions have been rewarded for their impressive Season Seven performances, named in the AFL Players’ Association 22Under22 Team.

Jesse Wardlaw, Courtney Hodder and Nat Grider have all earnt their third selection in the fan-voted team, while Tahlia Hickie earns her second selection in the side.

Their selection in the side comes off the back of an outstanding season for all four young stars as part of a dominant Brisbane Lions outfit that earnt itself it’s fourth AFLW Grand Final appearance on Friday.

Wardlaw and Grider polled highly among fans, with more than 70% selecting the pair in their team.

It comes as Wardlaw broke the competition record for the most number of goals kicked in a single season in Friday’s night Preliminary Final, booting 22 goals across 12 games. The record was previously held by the Adelaide Crow’s Ash Woodland with 21 (Season Six).

Key defender Grider has continued her 2022 All-Australian form to be named in the 22Under22 side for a third straight season.

Hodder joins Wardlaw and Grider in earning her third 22Under22 selection, having previously selected in the team in 2021 and 2022 Season Six.

The former rugby talent starred in the Lions’ Preliminary Final win over Adelaide on Friday night, kicking two goals and gathering 11 disposals and five marks.

Hickie took her game to new heights in Season Seven to earn her second team selection (2022 Season Six), averaging 21.1 hitouts per game (+2.3% on career average), as well as a career high 34 hitouts in Round 2 against GWS.

The Brisbane Lions had the most representatives of any Club in this year’s 22Under22 team.

Players are selected for the AFL Players Association 22Under22 squad based on match statistics from Champion Data, with fans voting on the squad to determine the final team of 22.

Six Lions have also been nominated as part of the AFLW MVP Awards which will be announced on Wednesday November 23.

Ally Anderson, Belle Dawes and Jesse Wardlaw have all been nominated for MVP, with Dawes also named as the Brisbane nominee for Most Courageous.

Captain Bre Koenen is up for the Best Captain Award, while recent Year 12 graduate Charlie Mullins is nominated for Best First Year Player.

The winners of the AFLW MVP Awards will be announced from 6PM AEST at the in-person celebration at Half Acre in South Melbourne and via the AFLPA digital channels.

Who will take out this seasons Best & Fairest award? Secure your ticket and come along to find out!