The prestigious annual MVP award goes to the player adjudged to be the best performed across the 2023 AFL competition, nominated by the league’s players.

Co-Captains Lachie Neale and Harris Andrews have produced standout individual seasons while leading the Lions for the first time.

The pair have been instrumental in Brisbane finishing second on the ladder and booking a finals berth for the fifth straight year.

Another teammate who has helped the Lions experience a strong home and way campaign was off-season recruit Josh Dunkley.


The talented midfielder has also been outstanding in his first season in Lions colours, joining his Brisbane captains to be nominated for the AFL Players’ Most Valuable Player Award.

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process.

The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner.

Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.

Other nominees for the club include Will Ashcroft for Best First Year Player, Dunkley for Most Courageous and Neale and Harris for Best Captain.

Brisbane Lions AFLW MVP Awards nominees

MVP: Josh Dunkley, Lachie Neale, Harris Andrews

Best First Year Player: Will Ashcroft

Best Captain: Lachie Neale and Harris Andrews

Most Courageous: Josh Dunkley