Main content

2016 Club Champion Wrap

Dayne Zorko has claimed top honours at the Brisbane Lions Club Champion awards dinner held on Saturday night at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre.

It is the second time Zorko has won the Merrett-Murray Medal, after being one of four Fairest and Best winners in 2015.

Mitch Robinson finished runner-up while Stefan Martin placed third.

Zorko was also acknowledged by Brisbane Lions supporters, receiving this year’s Hyundai Club Player of the Year Award.

19-year-old Josh Schache received the Rookie of the Year Award in recognition of his promise as a key forward for the Brisbane Lions. Schache kicked 16 goals in 17 games.

Defender Tom Cutler was rewarded for the best season of his career by being named the 2016 Marcus Ashcroft Most Professional Player, while Billy Evans was the recipient of the Neville Fallon Reserves Best and Fairest.

Darcy Gardiner took out the Shaun Hart Most Competitive Player Award in his third year at the Club, and after playing on some of the game's best defenders in 2016.

Captain Tom Rockliff was acknowledged by his peers by winning the Players’ Player Award.

Departing Lions Daniel Merrett, Trent West and Justin Clarke were recognised by the Club through Recognition of Service awards, while trainer Sam Mounajed was the recipient of the Murray Johnson Volunteer of the Year Award.

The Award Winners:

Club Champion: Merrett-Murray Medallist Dayne Zorko
Nigel Lappin Trophy - Runner up Mitch Robinson
Alastair Lynch Trophy - Third place Stefan Martin
Rookie of the Year Josh Schache
Marcus Ashcroft Most Professional Player Award Tom Cutler
Shaun Hart Most Competitive Player Award Darcy Gardiner
Players’ Player Award Tom Rockliff
Neville Fallon Brisbane Lions Reserves Best & Fairest Billy Evans
Hyundai Club Player of the Year Award Dayne Zorko
Vero Fan Moment of the year Daniel Merrett
Murray Johnson Volunteer of the Year Award Sam Mounajed

Josh Clayton
Matthew Hammelmann
Eric Hipwood
Jarrad Jansen
Ben Keays
Rhys Mathieson
Josh Schache
Archie Smith
Reuben William

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs