Emily Bates, Natalie Grider and Kate Lutkins are the Lions candidates for the 2020 AFLW Players’ Association’s Most Valuable Player Award.

The prestigious annual MVP award goes to the player adjudged to be the best performed across the AFLW competition, according to her peers.

Bates and Lutkins were among the most consistent contributors for the club in the 2020 season. While Nat Grider, in just her second year in the AFLW, raised her game to a new level each week.

Other nominees for the club include Shannon Campbell for Most Courageous and Cathy Svarc for Best first-year player.

Voting for the AFLW MVP, Most Courageous, Best First-Year Player and Best Captain awards is a two-stage process, with players nominating their teammates in stage one before selecting from a competition-wide field in stage two.

Players cannot vote for a player from their own club during stage two of the voting process.

The winners are expected to be announced next week, along with the final team of the AFLW 22Under22.

Brisbane Lions AFLW MVP Awards nominees

MVP: Emily Bates, Natalie Grider, Kate Lutkins

Most Courageous: Shannon Campbell

Best First-Year player: Catherine Svarc

Best Captain: Emma Zielke