TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Lions TV

Trade Update

4:04pm  Oct 12, 2018

McCarthy excited for new chapter

4:45pm  Oct 11, 2018

Exclusive: New rules revealed

2:13pm  Oct 11, 2018

Dayne Zorko wins third-consecutive Merrett-Murray Medal

Josie Fielding  September 1, 2017 10:30 PM

Merrett-Murray Winner: Dayne Zorko Highlights from the 2017 Merrett-Murray winner, Dayne Zorko.

Dayne Zorko has been crowned the Brisbane Lions’ Club Champion for the 2017 season.

The 28-year-old was presented with the Merrett-Murray Medal by Chairman Bob Sharpless and Kevin Murray and Roger Merrett, whom the award is named after.

The Club Champion recognition caps off an incredible week for the “Magician” after he was named in the All Australian 22-man team for the first time in his career.

In his 21 games this season, Zorko polled 277 votes for his efforts on field, as judged by Senior Coach Chris Fagan and Assistant Senior Coaches at the Lions.

The tenacious midfielder kicked 34 goals and recorded 147 tackles, the fifth highest in the AFL. He averaged 16 kicks, four marks and nine handballs each match. 

Read the full wrap of how the 2017 Lions Club Champion unfolded

This is the third consecutive year Zorko has accepted the Merrett-Murray medal since making his debut for the Lions in Round 7, 2012.  

He equals Lions veterans Simon Black, Jonathan Brown and Michael Voss for the most Merrett-Murray Medals [Voss previously won two Club Champion awards with the Brisbane Bears]. 

In his 135 games for Brisbane, Zorko has endeared himself to teammates with his infectious energy and competitive spirit. He is a natural leader for the Lions and is part of their seven-man Leadership Group.

In second place for the Merrett-Murray Medal was Captain Dayne Beams with 224 votes, followed by Vice-Captain Tom Rockliff with 214 votes.

Merrett-Murray Medal Top Ten 

Dayne Zorko 277
Dayne Beams 224
Tom Rockliff 214
Stefan Martin 202
Sam Mayes 200
Daniel Rich 199
Lewis Taylor 197
Harris Andrews 180
Ryan Lester 177
Darcy Gardiner & Eric Hipwood 143


Voting procedure for Merrett-Murray Medal:

Senior Coach Chris Fagan and five Senior Assistant Coaches allocate votes based on the player’s overall performance, delivery on all team criteria and execution of trademark. 

A coach can allocate a maximum of four votes to a player and the maximum votes a player can receive in one match is 24 votes.