Brisbane Lions Women’s CEO Breeanna Brock commended today’s 2019 AFLW fixture announcement.

In season three the Lions will again play seven regular season games, with three to be hosted at home.

Brock said the team cannot wait for the season to start.

“Now that the 2019 draw is out, we are really excited for what’s in store for us next year,” Brock said.

“We have the opportunity this year to play for the first time at a number of new venues.”

The Lions’ season kicks off in style, hosting GWS Giants in Round 1 at the Moreton Bay Sports Complex in Burpengary.

The following week they will travel to the West to take on Fremantle.

“We’re glad that the big travel is early on,” Brock said.

“We played really well there last time. It’s a great footy state and the crowd will be big, which we will really enjoy.”

In Round 3 the Lions host Melbourne at Hickey Park, Wilston Grange. This will be the Dees’ first time playing in Queensland and the first AFLW game to be played at this ground.

“We are looking forward to trialing a new venue in Wilston Grange,” Brock said.

“We believe it will be more accessible for our fans with plenty of parking options and close to public transport. There is a bit more shade and seating for the crowd, which we hope the fans will like.”

In Round 4 the Lions will make their first appearance at Whitten Oval, for a Grand Final re-match against the Western Bulldogs.

The following week they return home to play their inaugural match against new expansion club Geelong.

The Lions final two rounds of the regular season will be played in Victoria. In Round 6 they take on Carlton and in Round 7 they will play Collingwood at Victoria Park for the first time.

“We have the attitude of play anywhere, anytime. We always bring our best game and season three will be no different,” Brock said.

“Our aim is to put ourselves into a position to host an AFLW preliminary final and hopefully have another shot at a Grand Final.”


Under the two-conference system announced by the AFL for the 2019 Women's season, the five teams in each conference will play each other, with three so-called "cross-over" games against teams in the other pool. 



Western Bulldogs

Brisbane Lions


Greater Western Sydney





North Melbourne


The top two teams in each conference will qualify for a preliminary final (first in Conference A vs second in Conference B, and vice-versa), with the winner of each progressing to the Grand Final.

The preliminary finals will be held on Saturday March 23, while the Grand Final will be the week after.

The team that accrues the most premiership points will host the Grand Final. If the two teams are even on points, percentage will be taken into account.