Harris Andrews, Jarryd Lyons, Lachie Neale are the Lions candidates for the 2020 AFL Players’ Association’s Most Valuable Player Award.

The prestigious annual MVP award goes to the player adjudged to be the best performed across the 2020 AFL competition, nominated by the league’s players.

Andrews, Lyons and Neale have been among the most consistent contributors for the club in the 2020 season. Lachie Neale is currently leading the competition in Disposals, Harris Andrews ranks 3rd for spoils and Jarryd Lyons sits in the top 10 for contested possessions and pressure acts.

00:31 Mins
Published on

Lyons snaps a beauty

Jarryd Lyons attacks the ball and snaps a beauty and extends Brisbane's lead.

Published on

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process. The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner.

Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.

Other nominees for the club include Oscar McInerney for Most Courageous and Keidean Coleman for Best First Year.

Three awards – Most Courageous, Best Captain and Best First Year – will be announced in line with #22Under22 on September 22, while the MVP Award will be announced on September 24.

Brisbane Lions AFLW MVP Awards nominees

MVP: Harris Andrews, Jarryd Lyons, Lachie Neale

Most Courageous: Oscar McInerney

Best First Year: Keidean Coleman

Best Captain: Dayne Zorko