Brisbane Lions’ players Harris Andrews and Eric Hipwood have been announced in the 2017 AFL Players' Association’s 22Under22 team.

Their selection in the team comes as no surprise following their impressive season and accolades at the Club.

Andrews was recognised for his leadership abilities at the 2017 Club Champion, receiving the Marcus Ashcroft Most Professional Player Award. While, Hipwood was honoured as Brisbane Lions’ Rookie of the Year.

The Lions’ players stand amongst the likes of Marcus Bontempelli, the first player in history to be selected four times in the 22Under22 team.

The Western Bulldogs star will skipper the 2017 fan-voted side that recognises the best 22 players aged 22 or under, with Bomber Zach Merrett his vice-captain for the second year running.

The Swans and Bombers have the most representatives in this year’s side, with three players from each club voted in by the fans, while Adelaide, Melbourne, Hawthorn, Brisbane and Gold Coast received multiple players in the 2017 team also.

After the release of the 40-man squad, more than 6,000 team entries were created by fans across the country.

2017 is 22Under22’s fifth year since its inception and is the only recognised AFL award voted by the fans.

The initial squad of 40 players was selected by the AFL Players’ Association’s Board, with the final 22 decided entirely by the fans.